New Board Members Welcomed May 1


At a special meeting held Monday, May 1, the Homewood-Flossmoor Community High School District 233 Board of Education certified the official results of the April 4 municipal election and welcomed three new members: Steve Anderson, Annette Bannon and Beth Larocca. Bannon of Homewood is an alumna of H-F’s Class of 1977, and Larocca of Flossmoor is an alumna of the H-F’s Class of 1976. Anderson, a resident of Homewood who was recently a board member of Homewood School District 153’s Board of Education, has two current students at H-F.

The three new members  now join current board members Flossmoor’s Debbie Berman, Dr. John Farrell and Jody Scariano, and Tim Wenckus of Homewood.  

After seating the new members and thanking exiting members — Gerald Pauling of Flossmoor, and Rick Lites and Andrew Lindstrom of Homewood — the board elected its officers for the year: President Steve Anderson and Vice President/Secretary Tim Wenckus

"I am truly humbled to be serving as this board's president and I will not take it for granted,” says Anderson. “I look forward to serving all of the students at Homewood-Flossmoor High School."

Larocca says, "I know there will be a learning curve, but I am extremely excited about working with the students, the staff, the administration and the other board members to make H-F even better. I am confident that all the parties involved will be willing to help me transition to this important position in our school and community."

"I am honored to serve our community on the H-F High School board. I want to thank the outgoing board members for their steadfast dedication to the success of H-F,” says Bannon. “I look forward to working with our community and fellow board members to enhance communication and transparency. I believe we are all striving for the same thing: to continue for H-F to be the best EVER!"

The board also selected its regular meeting dates for the upcoming school year: July 18, 2017 (canceled); Aug. 15, 2017; Sept. 19, 2017; Oct. 17, 2017; Nov. 21, 2017; Dec. 19, 2017; Jan. 16, 2018; Feb. 20, 2018; March 20, 2018; April 3, 2018; April 17, 2018; May 15, 2018; and June 19, 2018. The final two regular school board meetings for this school year will be held May 16, 2017, and June 20, 2017. Meetings are held in the school’s library at 7:30 p.m.