2018 National Merit Students Announced


Homewood-Flossmoor Community High School District 233 is proud to announce that three members of its senior class — Allie Mangel of Homewood, Andronicus Marati of Homewood and Alessandro Vazquez of Chicago Heights — have been named semifinalists in this year’s National Merit Scholarship Program. They are three of nearly 16,000 students across the U.S. to receive this honor from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), based in Evanston. They each now have an opportunity to continue in the NMSC competition for some 7,500 scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered in the spring.

In addition, six other H-F seniors have been recognized as 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the competition for the scholarship awards, they placed among the top 50,000 scorers of the more than 1.6 million students who entered this year's competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT in the fall of 2016. They are: Flossmoor’s Declan Cawley and Joseph Cipriano; and Homewood’s William Doran, Stewart Keene, Arthur Willis and John Wootton.

This is the 63rd year of the program. Scholarships are underwritten with National Merit’s own funds and by approximately 420 business organizations and high education institutions that share the NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

H-F’s semifinalists and commended students will all be honored locally by District 233 at a breakfast at the school with their parents in attendance on Thursday, Oct. 19.