School Calendar

 

At-a-Glance Calendar — 2017-18 School Year

PDF Version: 2017-18 School Calendar - Click here to view...

___________________________________________________________

 

 

HOMEWOOD-FLOSSMOOR HIGH SCHOOL 2017-18 CALENDAR

DATE                   EVENT                                                       SCHOOL DAYS 

Monday, Aug. 14: INSTITUTE DAY (No Classes)

Tuesday, Aug. 15: Teacher Work Day (No Classes)

Wednesday, Aug. 16: Classes Begin

Thursday, Aug. 24: Back-to-School Night

Friday, Sept. 1: PLC Day (No first period)

Monday, Sept. 4: Labor Day (School Closed)

Friday, Sept. 15: PLC Day (No first period)

Friday, Oct. 6: PLC Day (No first period)

Monday, Oct. 9: Columbus Day (School Closed)

Wednesday, Oct. 11: All-School Test Day 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Thursday, Oct. 19: End of 1st Quarter
                                                                                                           1st Quarter 45 Days

___________________________________________________________________________________


Friday, Oct. 27: PLC Day (No first period)

Thursday, Nov. 2: Parent/Teacher Conferences 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal

Friday, Nov. 3: INSTITUTE DAY (No Classes)

Friday, Nov. 17: PLC Day (No first period)

Wednesday, Nov. 22: Student Dismissal 1:20 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 23: Thanksgiving Day (School Closed)

Friday, Nov. 24: Thanksgiving Recess (School Closed)

Friday, Dec. 1: PLC Day (No first period)

Monday, Dec. 18: Semester Final Exams 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Tuesday, Dec. 19: Semester Final Exams 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Wednesday, Dec. 20: End 1st Semester; Semester Final Exams 1:20 p.m. Dismissal

Thursday, Dec. 21: MARKING DAY (No Classes)

Friday, Dec. 22: Winter Recess Begins                                     
                                                                                                              2nd Quarter 41 Days

                                                                                                                   86 SCHOOL DAYS
_______________________________________________________________________________

Monday, Jan. 8: Winter Recess Ends/INSTITUTE DAY (No Classes)

Tuesday, Jan. 9: Second Semester Begins/Classes Resume

Monday, Jan. 15: Dr. M.L. King, Jr.’s Birthday (School Closed)

Friday, Jan. 26: PLC Day (No first period)

Friday, Feb. 9: PLC Day (No first period)

Monday, Feb. 19: Presidents’ Day (School Closed)

Friday, March 2: PLC Day (No first period)

Monday, March 5: Casimir Pulaski's Birthday (School Closed)

Thursday, March 15: End of 3rd Quarter
                                                                                                              3rd Quarter 45 Days
_______________________________________________________________________________
 

Friday, March 16: INSTITUTE DAY (No Classes)

Monday, March 26: Spring Recess Begins

Friday, March 30: Good Friday (No Classes)

Tuesday, April 3: Spring Recess Ends / Classes Resume

Friday, April 6: PLC Day (No first period)

Tuesday, April 10: All-School Test Day 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Friday, April 20: PLC Day (No first period)

Friday, May 4: PLC Day (No first period)

Thursday, May 24: Last Day of Classes for Seniors

Monday, May 28: Memorial Day (School Closed)

Tuesday, May 29: Final Exams / In-Service Day 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal

Wednesday, May 30: Final Exams / In-Service Day 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal

Thursday, May 31: Final Exams / In-Service Day 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal (End 2nd Sem.)

Friday, June 1: Marking Day (No classes)

Sunday, June 3: GRADUATION

 


                                                                                                               4th Quarter 47 Days

                                                                                                                    92 School Days
_______________________________________________________________________________
 

178 Student Attendance Days
4 Institutes
                                                                                                    3 Teacher Work Days

If emergencies occur, the calendar will be extended as needed. (June 1, 4, 5, 6, 2018)
_______________________________________________________________________________

Board of Education 2/21/17                                                                                               185 days