School Calendar

Click here for a PDF version of the 2013/2014 School Calendar

Just posted! Click here for the 2014/15 School Calendar.
 

HOMEWOOD-FLOSSMOOR HIGH SCHOOL 2013 / 2014 CALENDAR

DATE                   EVENT                                                       SCHOOL DAYS 

Monday, Aug. 12: INSTITUTE DAY (No Classes)

Tuesday, Aug. 13: Teacher Work Day (No Classes)

Wednesday, Aug. 14: Classes Begin

Friday, Aug. 30: PLC Day (No first period)

Monday, Sept. 2: Labor Day (School Closed)

Friday, Sept. 13: PLC Day (No first period)
 

Thursday, Sept. 19: Back-to-School Night

Friday, Sept. 27: PLC Day (No first period)


Friday, Oct. 11: PLC Day (No first period)


Monday, Oct. 14: Columbus Day (School Closed)

Wednesday, Oct. 16: All-School Test Day 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Friday, Oct. 18: End of 1st Quarter
                                                                                                                                               1st Quarter 46 Days

___________________________________________________________________________________


Monday, Oct. 28: Parent/Teacher Conferences 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal

Tuesday, Oct. 29: INSTITUTE DAY (No Classes)

Monday, Nov. 11: Veterans' Day (School Closed)

Friday, Nov. 15: PLC Day (No first period)

Wednesday, Nov. 27: Student Dismissal 1:20 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 28: Thanksgiving Day (School Closed)

Friday, Nov. 29: Thanksgiving Recess (School Closed)

Friday, Dec. 6: PLC Day (No first period)

Tuesday, Dec. 17: Semester Final Exams 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Wednesday, Dec. 18: Semester Final Exams 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Thursday, Dec. 19: End 1st Semester; Semester Final Exams 1:20 p.m. Dismissal

Friday, Dec. 20: MARKING DAY (No Classes)

Monday, Dec. 23: Winter Recess Begins                                     
                                                                                                                                              2nd Quarter 40 Days

                                                                                                                   86 SCHOOL DAYS
_______________________________________________________________________________

Monday, Jan. 6: Winter Recess Ends/INSTITUTE DAY (No Classes)

Tuesday, Jan. 7: Second Semester Begins/Classes Resume

Monday, Jan. 20: Dr. M.L. King, Jr.’s Birthday (School Closed)

Friday, Jan. 24: PLC Day (No first period)

Friday, Feb. 7: PLC Day (No first period)
 

Monday, Feb. 17: Presidents’ Day (School Closed)

Friday, Feb. 21: PLC Day (No first period)

Monday, March 3: Casimir Pulaski's Birthday (School Closed)

Tuesday, March 4: INSTITUTE DAY (No Classes)

Friday, March 21: End of 3rd Quarter; PLC Day
                                                                                                                           3rd Quarter 47 Days
_______________________________________________________________________________
 

Monday, March 31: Spring Recess Begins


Monday, April 7: Spring Recess Ends / Classes Resume


Friday, April 11: PLC Day (No first period)
 

Friday, April 18: Good Friday (School Closed)

Wednesday, April 23: PSAE 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Thursday, April 24: PSAE 1:20 p.m. Student Dismissal

Friday, May 2: PLC Day (No first period)

Friday, May 16: PLC Day (No first period)

Thursday, May 22: Last Day of Classes for Seniors

Monday, May 26: Memorial Day (School Closed)

Friday, May 30: In-Service Day 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal

 

Sunday, June 1: GRADUATION

Monday, June 2: Final Exams — 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal

Tuesday, June 3: Final Exams — In-Service Day; 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal

Wednesday, June 4: End 2nd Sem.; Final Exams — In-Service Day 11:30 a.m. Student Dismissal

Thursday, June 5: MARKING DAY (No Classes)


                                                                                                                          4th Quarter 45 Days

                                                                                                                           92 School Days
_______________________________________________________________________________

If emergencies occur, the calendar will be extended as needed.            178 Student Attendance Days
(June 5, 2014)                                                                                                       4 Institutes
                                                                                                                              3 Teacher Work Days

_______________________________________________________________________________

Board of Education 1/15/13 (Rev. 2/10/14; 3/14/14)                                            185